football clubs in singapore warriors fc

List of 9 Football Clubs in Singapore Soccer League (S.League)

Football clubs in Singapore list – Football in Singapore is well organized by Football Association of Singapore (FAS). S.League or Singapore League is the Singaporean professional league for men’s association football clubs. There are couple cup competitions such as Singapore Cup and Singapore League Cup. Currently there 9 top football clubs in Singapore at the highest level that compete in S.League, in addition of 22 amateur clubs as Singapore National Football League participants.

S.League first held in 1996 as the country primary football competitions. Currently, there are 9 soccer clubs in Singapore as S-League participants. From 9 S-League clubs, only seven Singapore-based clubs. Other 2 clubs is foreign club that invited to take part in S-League to raise its level of competitiveness. Current two foreign clubs in S.League are Albirex Niigata S (Japan) and DPMM FC (Brunei).

Singapore Football Clubs

  1. Albirex Niigata Singapore FC
  2. Balestier Khalsa
  3. DPMM FC
  4. Geylang International
  5. Home United
  6. Hougang United
  7. Warriors FC
  8. Tampines Rovers
  9. Young Lions

Since its inception, 6 clubs have won S-League at least once. Warriors FC is the most succesful clubs in Singapore, having won S-League six times as well as four times won Singapore Cup and three times won Singapore Community Shield. Tampines Rovers won five S.League, while Home United, Geylang International and Albirex Niigata Singapore won S-League twice.

List of Football Clubs in Singapore

Here are current 9 members clubs of S.League along with its name, nickname, year founded, ground, stadium capacity and its honours/titles won.

1. Albirex Niigata Singapore FC

football clubs in singapore albirex niigata

Founded : 2004
Nickname : The White Swans
Ground : Jurong East Stadium
Capacity : 2,700
Honours : S.League (2), Singapore Cup (3), Singapore League Cup (4), Singapore Community Shield (2)

2. Balestier Khalsa FC

football clubs in singapore balestie khalsa

Founded : 1898
Nickname : The Tigers
Ground : Toa Payoh Stadium
Capacity : 3,896
Honours : Singapore Cup (1), Singapore League Cup (1)

3. Brunei Duli Pengiran Muda Mahkota FC (DPMM FC)

football clubs in singapore dpmm fc

Founded : 1994
Nickname : Tebuan/The Wasps
Ground : Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium
Capacity : 28,000
Honours : S.League (1), Singapore League Cup (3)

4. Geylang International FC

football clubs in singapore geylang international

Founded : 1974
Nickname : The Eagles
Ground : Bedok Stadium
Capacity : 4,000
Honours : S.League (2), Singapore Cup (1)

5. Home United

football clubs in singapore home united

Founded : 1940
Nickname : The Protectors
Ground : Bishan Stadium
Capacity : 6,500
Honours : S.League (2), Singapore Cup (6)

6. Hougang United

football clubs in singapore hougang united

Founded : 1998
Nickname : Cheebais
Ground : Hougang Stadium
Capacity : 3,400
Honours : –

7. Tampines Rovers

football clubs in singapore tampines rovers

Founded : 1945
Nickname : The Stags
Ground : Our Tampines Hub
Capacity : 5,000
Honours : S.League (5), Singapore Cup (3), Singapore Community Shield (4)

8. Warriors FC

football clubs in singapore warriors fc

Founded : 1975
Nickname : The Warriors
Ground : Choa Chu Kang Stadium
Capacity : 4,600
Honours : S.League (9), Singapore Cup (4), Singapore Community Shield (3)

9. Young Lions FC

football clubs in singapore young lions fc

Founded : 2002
Nickname : The Young Lions
Ground : Jalan Besar Stadium
Capacity : 8,000
Honours : –

Former S.League Football Clubs

  • Gombak United
  • Jurong FC
  • Paya Lebar Punggol
  • Sembawang Rangers
  • Sengkang Marine
  • Sengkang Punggol
  • Tanjong Pagar United
  • Woodlands Wellington
  • Beijing Guoan Talent (foreign club from China)
  • Dalian Shide (foreign club from China)
  • Etoile FC (foreign club from France)
  • Harimau Muda (foreign club from Malaysia)
  • Sinchi FC (foreign club from China)
  • Sporting Afrique (foreign club from Nigeria-Cameroon)
  • Super Reds (foreign club from South Korea)

So that’s all list of 9 football clubs in Singapore that compete in S.League competitions as the highest-rank football competitions in Singapore. The winners of S.League also qualify to continental competitions such as AFC Champions League and AFC Cup.

Leave a Comment